25 Misunderstood Rules in High School Basketball
1. There is no 3-second count between the release of a
shot and the control of a rebound, at which time a new
Comment: We officials know this, however……..
2. A player can go out of bounds, and return inbounds and
be the first to touch the ball l! Comment:
This is not the NFL. You can be the first to touch a ball
if you were out of bounds. However, you must establish
yourself as inbounds. “Something in, nothing out”.
3. There is no such thing as “over the back”. There must
be contact resulting in advantage/disadvantage. Do not put
a tall player at a disadvantage merely for being tall! Comment:
See comment #1…
4. “Reaching” is not a foul. There must be contact and the
player with the ball must have been placed at a
Comment: See Comment #1
5. A player can always recover his/her fumbled ball; a
fumble is not a dribble, and any steps taken during
recovery are not traveling, regardless of progress made
and/or advantage gained! (Running while fumbling is not
You can fumble a pass, recover it and legally begin a
dribble. This is not a double dribble. If the player
bats the ball to the floor in a controlling fashion,
picks the ball up, then begins to dribble, you now have a
6. It is not possible for a player to travel while
Basketball Fundamental #6. Page 73 of the Rule Book.
7. A high dribble is always legal provided the dribbler’s
hand stays on top of the ball, and the ball does not come
to rest in the dribblers’ hand.
Comment: See #1…. The key is whether or not the ball is
at rest in the hand.
8. A “kicked” ball must be intentional, and contact must
be any part of the leg.
Comment: MUST be intentional. We miss this too many
times at the lower levels.
9. It is perfectly legal for a player to rebound his/her
own air ball, provided the official deemed the shot a
Comment: Case Book 4.44-B describes this play exactly.
10. It is impossible to travel, double dribble or carry
while taking the ball out for a throw in. I have seen
officials tell athletes they can't move on a throw-in.
Why? This is not a rule. You have limitations but you can
Comment: They must stay over the spot in a lateral
manner. Rule 4-42-6 ---- The spot is 3 feet wide and has
no restrictions on depth.
Misconception of Traveling and Lane Violations
11. A ball cannot travel over the top of the back board,
however, it can travel behind the backboard.
Comment: The ball can pass through the poles, wires,
standards, etc, provided that it does not touch anything.
12. A defender does not have to “give the dribbler a
step”. As long as legal guarding position has been
established, it is up to the dribbler to avoid contact.
The person with the ball should expect to be guarded.
Comment: Legal guarding position is the key. Time and
distance are not an issue when guarding someone with the
ball. Rule 4-23-4.
13. The sides, top, and bottom of a rectangular backboard
are IN BOUNDS. Comment:
Lead official should NEVER be looking to make this
14. Jumpers may tap the ball simultaneously; may tap the
ball twice; and when a legally tapped ball touches the
floor, a player other than a non-jumper or (believe it or
not) a backboard, the jump ball has ended, and either
jumper may recover it!
Comment: Rule 4-28-3
15. A 10 second count continues when the defense deflects
or bats the ball. Comment:
The count ceases only when possession changes.
16. A "moving screen" isn't a violation unless there is
contact. (If contact occurs, it’s a “BLOCK”, which is a
17. Any contact foul during a live ball is personal, not
The contact can be flagrant, but never technical.
18. Basketball is NOT a non-contact sport. Incidental
contact does occur, and contact which does not create an
advantage/disadvantage may be ignored. Contact on the
shooter should be called.
Comment: This is our bread and butter. Purely judgment.
Understanding the flow or the game and the teams that are
playing are paramount in you being able to determine
correctly what is and what is not a foul.
19. Any unsportsmanlike contact during a dead ball is a
Comment: See #17
20. A defensive player does not have to be stationary to
take a charge…. he or she simply must have established a
legal guarding position. The defense can move backward and
Comment: Legal guarding position must be established.
OFFICIATE THE DEFENSE !!
21. An intentional foul is always penalized with 2 free
throws, except on a missed 3-point shot, which is awarded
3 free throws.
Comment: Rule 4-19-3
22. When an airborne shooter commits a player control
foul, his/her successful try for goal cannot be allowed,
regardless of whether the try was released before or after
the foul! Comment:
23. Lifting the pivot foot
constitute a travel unless the ball handler puts the pivot
foot back on the floor prior to beginning a passing, or
shooting the ball! The pivot foot cannot be lifted before
the dribble is started.
Comment: We miss this too many times! Hold your whistle
until you see what transpires.
24. It is not goaltending if, after contacting the
backboard, the ball is touched by a defensive player,
provided the ball has not reached it’s apex and it is not
inside the cylinder. Comment:
It is legal for a defender in the normal course of trying
to block a shot, to contact the backboard with his hand.
This is not basket interference. It is a technical foul
only if, in your judgment, the contact with the backboard
was intentional in nature with no real attempt to block
occurs when: a player touches the ball or basket (net
included) when the ball is ON or within the basket;
touches the ball when it is touching the cylinder having
the ring as its lower base; touches the ball outside the
cylinder while reaching through the basket from below.
occurs when: a player touches the ball during a try or tap
while it is in its downward flight entirely above the
basket ring level and has the possibility of entering the
basket in flight; or an opponent of the free thrower
touches the ball outside the cylinder during a free throw
Comment: Touching the net is
a violation if the ball is in contact with the rim, or is
within the basket. It is
a violation if the net is touch while the ball is in the
cylinder. Again, the lead official should never have to
make this call.